Kleshas and Tanhas

ethics morals faiths ideals

Thank You TV for Being Incredibly Awkward

with 4 comments

There’s nothing like kicking it with the clients of Mercy Neighborhood Ministries on yet ANOTHER rainy Tuesday morning. I’ve mentioned Let’s Make a Deal Before in other posts. Yep, we watched it again today. The stupid show is really growing on me; it was initially bothersome to watch how greedy people would get and just go for the biggest prize. But today was a few people’s lucky day; a couple won a car, another due won a trip to Bermuda, and a girl won some set up diamonds that were supposedly worth $5,000 dollars.

Nice.

But commercials, I mean what is up with commercials these days? We sit in a circle around a big, flat screen television and glue our eyeballs to the screen for 31 minutes. And yes, I am asked to raise the volume so everyone can hear. So no one gets away without hearing the awkward, obscene, and inappropriate ads. For the youth who can still hear close to 20,000 Hz, the volume is higher than you would like at 10 in the morning for those that cannot hear that high of a frequency. That alone is awkward at first. It’s really no different than the Grenade on iPhones that professors and people over the age of 35 cannot hear. You smirk when you hear that shrill noise. But in this instance, you don’t smirk; you wince, then look around to other two kids that share your generation. You may ask why is this awkward? Well is the Pope Catholic? Do old people have a bad sense of hearing?

Castle Mercy

But back to the actual commercials. The first was a good ole retirement, need Medicare, look how helpless old people can be infomercial on how people can get help. Our little bubble in Mercy Neighborhood is only penetrated when the Outside World permeates our castle’s walls. The TV is that magic mirror on the wall that gives the sheltered inhabitants of Castle Mercy information that everyone would be better off without. I could only scratch behind my ear and just kind of look around as the commercial played, hoping that someone’s ego wouldn’t be offended. (Mine would be if I was in that position.)

Maybe the stark contrast and similarities between the actors in the commercial and the clients of MNM made it awkward. Similarities go without saying; confined to wheel chairs and bent over double should be enough to formulate that image. The contrasts might be the fluidity and freedom the characters take for granted and the confinements of the clients at MNM; they watch the TV passively while the actors frolic in between statements.

I guess all in all, it’s not that awkward.

Oh. Wait.

Did I mention that the next commercial was for tampons?!

 

 

Written by Jack Viere

November 29, 2011 at 5:16 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So. We both write about TV. I must admit my bias….threw mine out years ago. People say, “You live in the floresta alone and don’t even have a television? How can you live like that?” Here is my contribution to the world of TV: http://patcegan.wordpress.com/2011/11/29/tv-weapon-of-mass-destruction/

    hugs from an old woman living in the floresta of Brazil…besides I do not live alone, God and many animals are my constant companions. Actually, I have lots of visitors. lol Thanks for visiting me, Jack. hugs, pat

    Pat Cegan

    November 29, 2011 at 5:29 pm

  2. Haha, some of these were pretty awkward, especially that medicare commercial. But call me cheesy, when I first saw the tampon commercial on television, I loved it, but anything in a tampon commercial emits awkwardness in my book. 🙂

    Rocket

    December 3, 2011 at 2:11 am

    • It was just awkward sitting in a room full of older females, my service learning partner (another female,) and me, myself, and sweet I.
      I couldn’t find the most recent commercial that I actually saw! But yea, I thought this one would convey the humor/embarrassment?

      Jack Viere

      December 3, 2011 at 1:24 pm

      • Well, you hit the nail right on the head!

        Rocket

        December 3, 2011 at 5:53 pm


Leave a Reply

